About Us

Mission Statement

The mission of the Duluth Playhouse is to offer opportunities that may educate, entertain, and involve the region.

One Theatre. Three Venues. Now home to three distinct venues, the Duluth Playhouse offers exceptional entertainment, training, and performance opportunities in theatre arts that inspires, challenges, and engages the region we serve. Founded in 1914, the Playhouse is one of the nation’s oldest non-profit theatres. We produce year-round seasons packed with dramas and musicals and much more at the NorShor Theatre, the Playhouse Family Theatre, and the Underground Theatre, along with year-round programming within our School of Performing Arts for youth and adults alike.


Playhouse Diversity Statement

The Duluth Playhouse is committed to offering equitable opportunities that support diversity in our programming and creating an inclusive environment.  The Playhouse does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, creed, gender identification, national origin, age, disability, marital status, veteran status, sexual orientation, or any other legally protected status.


Explore More with the Playhouse:


Virtual Production Playbills

Check out the playbills from our most recent virtual productions:


Special Acknowledgements

The activities produced by The Duluth Playhouse at the NorShor, Family, and Underground Theatres and the School of Performing Arts is made possible by the voters of Minnesota through a Minnesota State Arts Board Operating Support grant, thanks to a legislative appropriation from the arts and cultural heritage fund.


The Playhouse and its programming is also supported in part by an award from the National Endowment for the Arts. To find out more about how National Endowment for the Arts grants impact individuals and communities, visit www.arts.gov.


The Playhouse also acknowledges the valuable support of the Depot Foundation, the Duluth Superior Area Community Foundation, the Wildey H. Mitchell Family Foundation, the McKnight Foundation, the Mardag Foundation, the Hanft Fride Law Firm, the Pachel Foundation, and the Lloyd K. Johnson Foundation.